Definite Door To Another Dimension

A friend made me a compilation tape once following a long, rambling alcohol fueled conversation about punk. No purist, he claimed punk was where you find it. The song that grabbed me on that tape that I didn’t know was this one by The Posies. It’s what journalists call power pop,a genre that they invented to describe guitar music that was punk-ish but also poppy. Power pop is easier to identify than it is to describe. The Knack’s My Sharona is an example. This song by the Posies is vastly better than My Sharona (which is a bit annoying). Loopy, hippy lyrics, massive crunchy power chords, quiet/loud dynamics and some ace melodies that transcend 1993’s grunginess.

Definite Door

One Response

  1. Light bulb. Hope to post it tonight after kids have gone to bed. Thanks for planting a seed of inspiration. I have needed it these days.

Leave a comment