Facility 4

This appeared out of the blue this week, fifteen minutes of lo-fi, wobbly, out there, ambient- acid, a sonic treat from Weatherall and Walsh aka the Woodleigh Research Facility. The visuals, including Silbury Hill, add a prehistoric vibe to the already fairly shamanic sounds.

To The Sea

Another day another Weatherall post. This one is an hour and ten minutes mix of songs about the sea. The Convenanza festival has moved this year from Carcasonne to Sète  and its Theatre by the Sea, hence the mix’s theme.

1. An Ocean Only You Can See / Ian William Craig
2. Atlantis / Deuter
3. Soft Ocean / The Kramford Look
4. An Ocean Goitia Deitz
5. Atlantic Postcard / The Holydrug Couple
6. Ocean Strings / Reverso 68
7. The Sun And The Sea / Barry Adamson
8. Sea The Swell / Talmun Shud
9. Sight On Sea / Magical Ring
10. The Great Pacific Garbage Patch / Music By Pinkunoizu
11. Life By The Sea [ Peel Version ] / The Names
12. Oceans / A.C.R.
13. Deep Sea / Kurt Vile
14. Sea Of Love / Like A Tim and Gina V.D’Orio
15. Sea Song / The Unthanks

And in a seemingly non-stop procession of output Weatherall and Nina Walsh’s Woodleigh Research Facility have contributed a track to a box set celebrating twenty five years of SOMA. This is a lively, thunderous and messy piece of acid.


Back at the start of the year Andrew Weatherall- him again- released two albums, one under his own name (Convenanza) and one with Nina Walsh as the Woodleigh Research Facility. The WRF album, The Phoenix Suburb And Other Stories, is eight tracks of dubby instrumentals and is continuing to reeal is pleasures nearly a year on. About a year ago the good people at Rotters Golf Club sent out an mp3 to everyone who’d subscribed to the Mojne Dubh singles club by way of apology for a delay in pressing the first 7″. This was it.

Gardens Dub


I’m enjoying the new Andrew Weatherall project. No surprise there you might say. The Woodleigh Research Facility’s The Phoenix Suburb (And Other Stories) is eight songs spread over four sides of vinyl (download to follow in February from Rotters Golf Club). Weatherall and Nina Walsh’s sound is rhythm and bass led, guitars added by Franck Alba and on the final track by Youth. Entirely instrumental every song is long, up to nine or ten minutes, allowed to unwind fully, taking its time and in no rush to get anywhere. Not that they drift aimlessly either- there’s some of the Sabres Of Paradise dubbiness plus some of Two Lone Swordsmen’s abstractness. Going further and deeper.

There’s probably a few vinyl copies left if you hurry. As Drew and I discussed over Twitter the other night the only disappointment is the lack of a proper sleeve- two discs and a single card insert inside a plastic bag.


My continuing exploration of the musical adventures of Andrew Weatherall goes on. It’s not my fault really- he keeps putting new stuff out, has been in a purple patch for some time now and is the sort of artist the internet was made for. This is a newie from the forthcoming Woodleigh Research Facility album, recorded with former Sabrettes main woman Nina Walsh and on this song Youth. It’s long and dubby with distorted horn noises and a chuggy rhythm.