Foggy Notion

I could get into a pattern of posting something by The Velvet Underground every Sunday if I’m not careful. One of the wonders of 1984s lost Velvet Underground songs album V.U. was Foggy Notion, recorded in May 1969, with the twin guitars of Sterling Morrison and Lou Reed achieving some kind of nirvana, Lou’s rythm and Sterling’s lead. When I hear it I can easily think there is no finer sound and they make it sound so simple. The lyrics are also a late period peak…

She’s over by the corner
Got her hands by her sides
They hit her harder harder harder
Till they thought she might die
Well I got a foggy notion,
Do it again
Over by the corner,
Do it again
I got my calamine lotion baby,
Do it again
I got a foggy notion
Do it again
She made me do something
That I never did before
I rushed right down
To a flower store
I bought her a bundle
A beautiful batch
Don’t you know something
She sent ’em right back
Sally Mae, Sally Mae
Sally Mae, Sally Mae
Sally Mae, Sally Mae
Sally Mae, Sally Mae
Leave a Reply

