It’s Hard Being A Man

I was in the record shop in town on Saturday looking at the 45th anniversary boxed set of the third velvet Underground album (my favourite of theirs, a record I can come back to umpteen times). I didn’t buy it. I haven’t bought it. Yet. But I came home and played VU while cooking tea, the 1985 album that rounded up some unreleased songs (some found in a bin at the record company). The opening song is I Can’t Stand It, which is unsurpassed, an absolute template, a song beyond compare. The rhythm guitars are tinny and choppy, Sterling Morrison’s guitar solo is unhinged and Lou’s drawled delivery is superb- as are the nonsense of the lyrics with those thirteen dead cats, a purple dog wearing spats, the mop assault and Shirley (who won’t come back).

I Can’t Stand It

The boxed set has cleaned up the songs. The 80s version of I Can’t Stand It is the one we’re all familiar with but the 2014 mix might just be even better.

Meanwhile I am still reeling from reading in a review that it was Doug Yule who sang Candy says, not Lou Reed. Should I have known this?

One Response

  1. The box set is well worth it, believe me. I was fairly sure it wasn’t Lou on Candy Says. Doug was more of a singer than Lou and his voice was much mellower, less harsh, ideally suited to such a song.

Leave a Reply

