Orange Creme

I get sent quite a lot of unsolicited emails offering me music to post for your attention. A lot of them get deleted I’m afraid. Life’s too short. I feel bad sometimes. It’s a big internet and it’s hard for unknown bands and people to get noticed. Also, it’s difficult to grab someone’s attention (mine) with an email- some are too quirky, some too dull, some too friendly, some just uninteresting. This one from Orange Creme caught my eye, I don’t know why. The name’s a but offputting admittedly but I liked the email. The blurb for the Electricity e.p. goes like this…

The first track ‘Games’ centers on an insistent dry & dirty disco bass line that pulses under the dance floor,
with just the right amount of cowbell to leave the listener yearning for more cowbell…
‘Runways at Night’ is a slice of funky technicolor house. Bright synths stabs, incessant hi-hat pattern and that purple rain Linndrum kick…

And the final track ‘End Credits’ is space pop filtered over a tight house bass. While a whistling moog synth line flows over the top, familiar from the British spy thrillers of the ’70s.

Now I’m not sure that any music could live up to that- just the right amount of cowbell is very subjective I think, leaving the listener yearning for more even more subjective- but it’s a good line and I enjoyed the track. You can judge for yourself below- it’s certainly decent enough, would sound right in a bar in town. I might nod my head appreciatively. The second one is indeed ‘funky technicolour house’, and compares itself to Purple Rain. The third I like even more, although I can’t quite place it in British spy thrillers of the 70s. But still, a good email Orange Creme- and that’s half the battle.

To top it off, as the picture shows, it’s available on cassette from Leisure Lovers. And the cassette inlay card features line drawings of a young woman lounging around at home in her underwear and, um, enjoying herself.