I Wasn’t Born So Much As I Fell Out

Ctel at Acid Ted has recently done a mammoth series of posts on the GYBO bootleg/mash up scene with interviews with a whole host of people involved. It reminded me about the London Booted album, an lp of bootleg versions of London Calling songs released in 2004. The album was a watershed moment for me, being the point where I really started using the internet for music. My gateway to this kind of thing. I hadn’t thought about or listened to London Booted for years. The mp3s perished in my hard drive disaster of 2007 and although I burned them all onto cd, it’s buried somewhere. Ctel’s series led me to wanting to hear them again- obviously I didn’t go physically hunting for the cd. I just poked around the internet a bit and re-downloaded the whole thing.

The tracklisting for the London Booted album was

  1. Blo_Up – Burnin’
  2. Dunproofin’ – Bubba’s Got A Brand New Cadillac
  3. Agent Lovelette – Burning Hot Jazz
  4. Stevie Mac – Hateful
  5. Eve Massacre – The Power Of Rebelution Can’t Fail
  6. Instamatic – Spanish Bombs (Over Baghdad)
  7. Manriki – A Good Profile
  8. McSleazy – Lost Souls In The Supermarket
  9. DJ Riko – Build ‘Em Up, Clamp ‘Em Down
  10. Loo & Placido – What About Brixton?
  11. Miss Frenchie – Fuck ‘Em Boyo
  12. Jools MF – Death Or Glory (Zeigeist Mix)
  13. Cry On My Console – Koka Kola (Tizer Remix)
  14. Jimmi Jammes – The Girl Wants A Cheat
  15. Pop Razors – 40 Lovers
  16. 10000 Spoons – Four Hoarse Men
  17. E-Jitz – I’m Not Down (Hold Your Head Up)
  18. Poj Masta – Rapturous Revolution
  19. Ez Lee – Vain Mistake
  20. Allen Smithee – Street Profile
  21. Dr Helix – Super Sharp Card Shark
  22. Faultside – Hysteria In Vain
  23. Freed – Birmingham’s Burning
  24. Freed – Rhythm Of The Dub
  25. LazyTramp – Funky Guns Of Brixton
  26. BONUS: Eddy TM on XFM – London Booted on the Remix
  27. BONUS: Manriki – Fuck The Right Profile (The Clash vs Peaches)

Some of these are works of brilliance. I’m going to post a few of them starting with McSleazy’s Lost Souls In The Supermarket, a beautiful version of Lost In the Supermarket. To call it chilled out would be to miss the paranoia and unease that is all over this track.

Lost Souls In The Supermarket

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: